In the beginning we made vegetarian and organic food. As we heard from customers that they also wanted food that was vegan, Kosher, Halal, GMO free and wheat and gluten free, we began to incorporate these qualities into our products.
While carefully considering our customers’ dietary requirements, we make food that is delicious for the whole family to enjoy together!
Definitions & Certifications
Vegetarian - Vegetarianism is the practice of following a plant-based diet including fruits, vegetables, cereal grains, nuts, and seeds, mushrooms, which are fungi not plants, with or without dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat meat, including red meat, game, poultry, fish, crustacea, and shellfish, and may also abstain from eating animal by-products such as animal-derived rennet, found in some cheeses, and gelatin.
Vegan - A vegan diet excludes all animal products, such as dairy products, eggs, and usually honey. Many vegans also seek to avoid using any other animal-derived products, such as clothing and cosmetics.
Organic – Organic foods are made in a way that limits the use of synthetic materials during production. For the vast majority of human history, agriculture can be described as organic; only during the 20th century was a large supply of new synthetic chemicals introduced to the food supply. This more recent style of production is referred to as “conventional.” Under organic production, the use of conventional non-organic pesticides, insecticides and herbicides is greatly restricted and saved as a last resort.
Kosher – Kashrut is the set of Jewish dietary laws. Food in accord with halakha (Jewish law) is termed kosher (meaning “fit” for consumption by Jews according to traditional Jewish law) in English. Food that is not in accordance with Jewish law is called treif.
Halal – Islam has laws regarding which foods can and cannot be eaten and also on the proper method of slaughtering an animal for consumption, known as dhabihah. Halal (“lawful” or “legal”) is a term designating any object or an action which is permissible to use or engage in, according to Islamic law. It is the opposite of haraam (“forbidden”). The term is used to designate food seen as permissible according to Islamic law.
Wheat and gluten free – A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, malts and triticale, as well as the use of gluten as a food additive in the form of a flavouring, stabilizing or thickening agent. It is the only medically accepted treatment for celiac disease, and wheat allergy.
LIVERight – 2010 Winner – Best Vegetarian Item
The Canadian Liver Foundation is currently focusing on research into North America’s most prevalent form of liver disease, which affects 10-24% of the global population. The most common cause of fatty liver disease in Canada is obesity. The LIVERight™ Awards honour foods that are both nutritionally sound and delicious.
For more information: http://www.liver.ca/liverightawards/awards/
Celiac Sprue Association – The CSA provides third party verification that food products are indeed gluten free. CSA Recognition Seal products are tested using the most sensitive ELISA test presently available. The R-Biopharm RIDASCREEN® Gliadin test has a lower limit of quantification of 5 parts per million. Products must test below the level of quantification of this test to qualify for the CSA Recognition Seal. Moreover, the CSA Recognition Seal proves the company’s commitment to a quality gluten-free product for celiac and gluten-sensitive individuals.